Prep work

My journey to the Middle East begins tomorrow. My flights are booked and my suitcase is (mostly) packed.

I’ll be leaving Mitchell in Milwaukee tomorrow very early, and my connecting flight in Cincinnati is scheduled to leave for JFK in the afternoon.

The weather is supposed to be windy/rainy in Ohio and New York. We’ll see what that means for flight times. I try not to worry about things I can’t control. Like the weather. Maybe someday.

For those of you who know me, it’ll probably come as no surprise to you that I’ve had recurring, nagging visions of missing my connecting flight to JFK, and becoming effectively stranded in the United States of America. Luckily, I have my flight-savvy father to help me out. Thanks Dad.

I’ve been reading Start-Up Nation: The Story of Israel’s Economic Miracle by Dan Senor and Saul Singer. It’s an easy read. Project Interchange sent each student who’s going a copy.

One interesting point is Israel’s economy is an interesting place to test a product–like an electric car– because its borders allow for a small, tightly-controlled environment. There are clear disadvantages to this, but it also gives a somewhat accurate representation of how a product functions in a community on a small-scale.

I plan on finishing Start-Up Nation during my long wait times between flights, but I also made a pretty solid travel playlist (Thanks to Signe, Katherine & Ryan for the suggestions). I thought it was time to listen to Gorillaz’ Demon Days again, and Signe recommended Rome by Danger Mouse and Daniele Luppi.

Wish me luck, and thanks for reading. I’ll be tweeting regularly @addie_blanchard.

 

Leave a Reply

